Home > Features, Games > The 20 Best Games of the Decade…..part 5

The 20 Best Games of the Decade…..part 5

8. Little Big Planet (PS3 – 2008)
lbp


I don’t care what you say, Sackboy is cute as all hell. This game has a great deal of cuteness but its edge is first rate level design. Media Molecule first created the tools and materials with which to build a world, and then did so in astonishing detail. Everything has this hand-made quality which is soaked in innocent charm. I’m willing to overlook my one complaint (the jump mechanic) because the game is so, well, lovely. I smiled pretty much all the way through and when I was done I checked out the user-made levels online. There is some crap but the top stuff blew me away, and still does. Lovingly created homages to existing games as well as original ideas. It’s rumoured there will be no sequel, only upgrades and I hope they stick to that as it is such a unique vision, it merits unique treatment, and deserves to sell over a long period. Brilliant.

7. Okami (PS2 – 2007 EU. Wii –  2008 EU)
okami
It is simultaneously no surprise and an absolute travesty that Okami, in both iterations, is such a commercial failure. I don’t know why it doesn’t attract people as I was instantly drawn to it. It is a beautiful game. Based on Japanese myth the story is engaging from start to end and is endless in charm. What puts people off is perhaps that you play a silent wolf and the environments can be seen as wishy washy, candy sweet nonsense. The watercolour effects satisfy the mind though. I got goosebumps the first time I revived a tree and the blossoms returned life to the surrounding dying land. The story continues on for hours (I did it with quite a few sidequests in 35hrs. I love long games) and never repeats itself or feels laboured. It is absolute fresh air, a shame more people haven’t played it, yet I feel lucky to be privy to its secret. Truly the greatest game never played.

6. The Sims (PC –  2000. Multi platform from 2003)
sims
I borrowed this game in the year of release for the PC. I began playing at about 1pm, went past dinner and into night when I drew the heavy, light blocking curtains. After a couple more hours I decided it was getting pretty late so reluctantly powered down. I took a peep outside and was shocked to see early daylight blinking wide-eyed right back at me. Was it definitely night when I drew the curtains? I thought to myself. Yes. Upon finding a clock it was 7am. I had played for 18 straight hours! I was shocked, but mostly impressed that The Sims, sneaking in at the very start of the decade, was so compelling as to keep me spellbound for the best part of an entire day. There really is no more I can say to express how I feel about this game. Excellence.

Part 6 tomorrow…..

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment